Trivia night

The Canterbury Football Club is holding a trivia night after the home game against South Melbourne on April 22nd from 7:00pm.

Brush up on your general knowledge and get a team together, it’s set to be a great night with plenty of fun and games for all to enjoy.

Tickets are $10 each which includes finger food with drinks available at bar prices. A meal will also be available from 6.30pm.

Send through your tables of 8-10 to

Tickets are to be pre-purchased by Thursday April 20th.

Training times

Now that we’re into April, we’re finally back training at the Snake Pit!

Men’s training reverts back to the usual Tuesday/Thursday nights, kicking off at 6.30pm.

Women’s training is currently taking place on Monday nights at the Snake Pit from 6.15pm, with the permanent location for Thursday nights still being finalised. Thursday April 6th the women will train at the Snake Pit, more info will be posted for the coming weeks as it comes to hand.

Following training on Thursday, dinner will be available and the bar will be open, stick around for the clubs jumper presentations and other information for the coming season.

Senior Captain appointed

Congratulations to Sam Murphy in being voted by his peers as Captain of the Canterbury Cobras. Sam will be ably supported by his experienced deputies in Ben Peel and Jeremy Gillen. Sam is highly respected for his leadership on and off the field and the club is looking forward to Sam leading the team out in 1 week’s time Cobra fans!


Introducing Cobras Men’s Reserves Coach 2017

The Canterbury Football Club are pleased to introduce Men’s Reserve team Coach for 2017. Keeping it in the family, the club have appointed Anthony ‘Uncle’ ‘Dennis’ Szabo.

Dennis-SzaboUncle to all Cobras, (actual Father & Uncle to Nick & Mitch) King of the Sunday morning #extrasession down at his local Beau-ey beach, Uncle Den has outperformed many a younger man over the past couple of seasons on-field for the Cobras, due in large part to his disciplined preparation & recovery. Dennis will bring his vast experience and look to instil his discipline & passion into our developing charges, and is looking forward to working under the overall coaching strategy & guidance of every Cobra’s Dad, Senior Coach John Doak.

The Mystery of Fairyland, Kew

James Nicolas, author of the clubs history book, has just released his latest offering, The Mystery of Fairyland, Kew.

This book, as previewed by The Herald Sun, The Leader and Senior paper is the story of a couple, one a Gallipoli veteran, who devoted their lives to making their house a tourist attraction for kids and kids at heart. It is a window in to post war Melbourne Suburbia and of a great love and love lost. A special place never forgotten by the thousands who went there.

The book is $29 available from James at and $5 from each book sold through the club will be donated back to the club.

“James Nicolas has faithfully recaptured the spirit of our lost childhoods in The Mystery of Fairyland. His attention to detail is meticulous. His photos of a bygone era are priceless.”
— TV & Radio Legend Philip Brady

As you know James- I love history – so I really enjoyed your book. Congrats on the amount of work you did
— Russell Morris, Australian Music legend

“It’s mainly a happy story enshrining the community spirit and love of children of two working class people.  However there is also pathos, sadness and an intimate story of a “family” broken up, as many were in those times, by the unveiling of inescapable truths.”
— Leon Wiegard, Olympian, Ex President Fitzroy, Businessman

Cobras women’s footy

CFC Womens FootyUPDATE:  Women’s footy training Mondays & Thursdays 6.15pm @ Canterbury Sports Ground.
More players are still needed. Share this around and bring your friends!


As part of Canterbury’s community engagement and broader sporting growth that has seen us spread in the past couple of years from a men’s footy team, to multiple mixed and women’s netball teams, and mixed AFL 7s teams, we have notified the VAFA of our intention to field a women’s team which will launch in the inaugural VAFA Women’s competition in 2017.

Canterbury has always had a strong women’s supporter base, with many of our committee executive roles held by women for many years – in fact, we had the first entirely female executive in the SFL in the early 2000’s. Now we are joining the VAFA in getting the girls on-field!

Already a number of women have expressed their interest in playing for Canterbury, however, the Club still needs to recruit a reasonable number of more players to field a women’s team for the whole 2017 season. Successfully recruiting significantly more players over the next two months will be paramount to whether our women’s team is able to compete in 2017.

With the New Year a distant memory and January nearly done, we need your support so are reaching out to you, our past, present and future (junior) communities to put yourselves, your family or friends forward to join the team. Experience, skill or fitness will not be a barrier to anyone interested in getting involved.

Please contact John, Sally or Kirsten on the numbers below to find out more or put yourself forward.


Women’s Football Coach
John McCully • 0402 429 471

Women’s Football Coordinator
Yvette Hall • 0421 362 836

Pic © Valeriu Campan – Leader Newspapers

Training back on Monday

Get excited ladies & gentlemen, footy is back next Monday night at the Snake Pit 6.30pm sharp. 

Our men’s team will be training twice per week from now until the season which commences in only 20 trainings time so make every effort to get down to get fit and grasp the new game plan we are implementing. 

We have 2 solid practice games coming up v St. Leo’s Emmaus & Forest Hill in late Match. Coaches Doak, Wombat, Hanners & Griz will be looking to select fit hungry players this season who are keen as mustard with all senior spots open. 

On Wednesday nights we will be at Cooper Reserve Camberwell where we will be getting into some match practice to work on our defensive press, ball movement & forward zone for this coming Wednesday. Please bring down any mates who haven’t come also. No footy boots please.

Catch you all Monday at the Pit ready to roll…..#2017yearofsnake

Pre-xmas training

Pre-season training will kick off on Wednesday November 30 at the Snake Pit (Canterbury Sports Ground) at 6.15pm, with free drinks and a BBQ to follow. Please try to arrive on time, runners only, no boots! These sessions will also take place on the 7th & 14th of December, and will then resume on Monday January 16th happening each Monday & Wednesday.

Come along and meet the new recruits and get aboard the Cobra train in 2017!

2017 office bearers

The AGM was held tonight and the outcome is a new look committee for season 2017.

Greg Nichols and Clive Driscoll accepted their nominations for president and vice president respectively, with both elected unopposed. BJ Lashbrook and Kirsten Kent depart from those positions, though both will remain on the club committee. Sue Bach remains in the position of secretary, while Angela James accepted her nomination for the treasurer position. The previous treasurer, Carol Pearce will also remain on the committee, assisting in the transition.
Continue reading “2017 office bearers”

A message from new senior coach John Doak

After his appointment to the role of senior coach last week, Doaky has the following message for club members.

Dear Sons & Daughters of the Cobra,

To be a past player and now given the reigns for season 2017 and beyond is one of the proudest moments of my life and I am truly honoured to lead this club and the lads on the front line. I am so excited and cannot wait for pre-season training to begin so we can get into it and build from this season and look to jag another flag ASAP.
Continue reading “A message from new senior coach John Doak”